Coach Mason Receives PGA Award

Carolinas PGA Celebrates 2018 Special Award Winners

The Carolinas PGA is thrilled to announce the winners of this year’s Section Awards and Honors, distributed annually by the Carolinas PGA Section, as selected by the Special Awards Committee, to the ten deserving Carolinas PGA Professionals. The mission of the Carolinas PGA Special Awards Committee is to recognize the most eligible winners in each of the annually awarded categories, which is accomplished by an enthusiastic commitment from each committee member afforded the responsibility of identifying his or her peers as exceptional.

Columbia College Head Golf Coach, Tom Mason, has been awarded the 2018 Player Development Award.  This award is designed to recognize individual PGA Professionals for their extraordinary and exemplary contributions and achievements in the area of Player Development.  This award considers the Professional’s growth of the game leadership commitment at the Section and National levels, plus the impact made at his/her own facility. Coach Mason received the Youth Player Development Award in 2017 and the Horton Smith Award in 2012.

The following Carolinas PGA Professionals display excellence in their profession, assume an ongoing commitment and devotion to progressing the game of golf and to preserving the integrity of the industry:

Golf Professional of The Year – Tom Dale, PGA
Bill Strausbaugh Award – Clem King, PGA
Horton Smith Award – Chris Byrd, PGA
Palmer Maples Teacher of the Year – Jason Baile, PGA
Player Development Award – Tom Mason, PGA
Youth Player Development Award – Briana Sweeny, PGA
Merchandiser of the Year (Private) – Franklin Newell, PGA
Merchandiser of the Year (Resort) – Greg Wrobel, PGA
Merchandiser of the Year (Public) – Todd Miller, PGA
Assistant Professional of the Year – Joe Wohlscheid, PGA

The award winners will be honored at the Carolinas PGA Awards and Honors Dinner, Sunday, February 17, 2019 at Greensboro Country Club – Irving Park